Breaking Routines

Hello.

Whoever still reads?

I’m in today.

Packed my quite empty luggage and flew over to Bangkok. In hope to search for inner peace even though I knew that this was temporary cure. If only I had more to spend, I would now already be in Florida, a place I called my third home. I really wish to go back there, where there are no expectations and smiles are just that straightforward. When did things become so difficult, I have no idea. Anyway, came over and thankfully my uni mate I knew in Switzerland put me up in his condo and I must say, I am really fortunate because of the strategic location (just beside the Four Seasons and St. Regis Hotel- stone throw away to Central World and Platinum Mall). Most of the time, I am alone, other times I would meet up my uni friends for Lunch and Dinner. I can say, I really give a pat on my own shoulders having broken many records. I mean, would you go to Chatuchak alone? Brave that crowded lanes and bargain on your own? Back in China, it was tough but it wasn’t this tough because I could pull off as a mainlander and even better, fake that Chinese accent and then I am totally safe. Here in Bangkok, I can pull off as a Thai but once I am expected to talk… FAIL. And so, I did a lot of exploring alone and I conquered (for awhile) height phobia. What happened was at times when my friend could not drive me to my destination, I had to take the BTS Sky Train. If the traffic and security was top rated, I would have taken a taxi anyway. Taking the Sky Train takes hell lots of COURAGE and TALKING-TO-MYSELF and I literally sweat this small stuff. The stations are so high up and I tried looking for elevators but to no avail. Now this may sound hilarious to you but sometimes I loiter around a little bit and wait for a group of people and quietly quickly just follow behind them up the stairs to take the train. Sounds crazy right? But I am really scared of heights la… They say, if you cannot take the Sky Train, you cannot live in Bangkok. So, I’m definitely OUT. Oh btw, something more ridiculous to share. I went to catch Spiderman movie alone today and while settling down comfortably on the seat, EVERYONE in the theatre suddenly stood up! I thought, “WHAT? Earthquake? WRONG theatre?” but actually… it was to pay respect to the King. Well, something new. Anyway, this solo trip is coming to an end and I am proud to have done many new things alone… I am also very thankful for my dear friend who has been feeding me with a lot of yummylicious food that can never be found here in Singapore, at least to me. He has taken great care of me and I am just extremely grateful for his precious time and hospitality. I have been missing him and thinking a lot about our times together in Suisse. Now this trip really makes up for the nostalgic feelings.

Where is next? 🙂

window seat
Best shot on flight
J.
J.

 

Published by

Jocelyn

An NMO fighter. ❥ Find joy in the ordinary. Always be kinder than necessary. ღ

4 thoughts on “Breaking Routines”

  1. Travelling alone is always the best thing on earth. Lets mediate together soon in Bali. Bali is my favourite place for solo travel.

Leave a comment